Columbia 300 News


Denmarks Thomas Larsen Wins Kuwait International Open for Second PBA Tour Title

KUWAIT CITY, Kuwait – Denmark’s Thomas Larsen defeated England’s Dom Barrett, 208-205, to win his second PBA Tour title in the 11th Kuwait International Open Friday at Cozmo Bowling Center.

Larsen, the top qualifier after Friday’s modified match play round, claimed the title and $25,000 first prize after Barrett split and opened in the ninth frame. Larsen’s previous PBA title came in the Abu Dhabi WBT in December in the United Arab Emirates.

Barrett, a three-time PBA Tour titlist including the 2013 PBA World Championship, advanced to the championship match by defeating fellow Englishman Stuart Williams, 243-202, in the semifinal match. Williams started the five-man stepladder finals by eliminating defending Kuwait Open champion Sean Rash of Montgomery, Ill., 256-200, and Jason Belmonte of Australia, 178-148.

In a special women’s stepladder final for the top three women who bowled in the tournament, former PBA member Shannon O’Keefe of Arlington, Texas – one of nine women who have won PBA Regional titles – defeated PBA member Sandra Andersson of Sweden, 242-196, for the $1,000 first prize.

The Kuwait Open was the third in a series of four WTBA-PBA International Tour events as part of the World Bowling Tour points competition. Next on the schedule is the 10th Brunswick Euro Challenge at Dream Bowl Palace in Munich, Germany, March 15-23. Ronnie Russell of Marion, Ind., is defending champion.



Cozmo Bowling Center, Kuwait City, Kuwait


Final Standings:

1, Thomas Larsen, Denmark, $25,000.

2, Dom Barrett, England, $12,000.

3, Stuart Williams, England, $8,000.

4, Jason Belmonte, Australia, $6,000.

5, Sean Rash, Montgomery, Ill., $5,000.


Stepladder Results:

Match One: Williams def. Rash, 256-200.

Match Two: Williams def. Belmonte, 178-148.

Semifinal: Barrett def. Williams, 243-202.

Championship: Larsen def. Barrett, 208-205.


Other PBA Cashers:

6, Osku Palermaa, Finland, $3,500.

7, Ryan Ciminelli, Cheektowaga, N.Y., $3,250.

8, Craig Niddifer, Trenton, Mich., $3,000.

9, Brad Angelo, Lockport, N.Y., $2,900.

10, Andres Gomez, Colombia, $2,800.

11, Mika Koivuniemi, Finland-Hartland, Mich., $2,700.

16, Martin Larsen, Sweden, $2,000.

19, Tom Daugherty, Wesley Chapel, Fla., $2,000.

20, Chris Loschetter, Avon, Ohio, $2,000.

21, Tom Hess, Urbandale, Iowa. $2,000.

24, Tommy Jones, Simpsonville, S.C., $1,500.

25, Ronnie Russell, Marion, Ind., $1,500.

26, Bill O’Neill, Langhorne, Pa., $1,500.

27, Jason Sterner, Covington, Ga., $1,500.

33, Mike Fagan, Fort Worth, Texas, $1,200.